sublime concoctions











{October 22, 2009}   Enzymes make my head spin

Ok, so I havent written in a while- and thats ok cause aint nobody tunin in just yet- but in case anyone does, i have a few things to write. RAW  FOOD! ENZYMES. I am reading about “raw food diet” and  I am obsessing on enzymes and how our body processes food- how we break it down and how we absorb it and what the hell is all this controversy about food. I think i have sortof come to a basic comfort zone concerning RAW FOOD vs COOKED. I have read some pretty convincing articles on each side of the debate as i look down the rabbit hole.  Pretty much raw foodies are convinced that we get these enzymes from raw food so much more “wonderfully’ and not only that- cooked food hampers our immune systems and breeds illness. Everyone I have listened to about raw food has some beautiful feelings about it- some border on religious about it- The thing I love about raw food ideas is i love the idea of the vital energy we get from raw food- i kind of part ways though when i cant make some amazing veggie soup and not think it isnt good for my body too.  i think my comfort zone is looking  alot more like Nourishing Traditions-  ideas of the enzymes being activated and our bodies being assisted digesting by eating certain condiments such as pickles, chutneys and kraut with our meats and eating some raw- including meat- i am understanding the beauty in sprouting our nuts and grains and hope to find the motivation to get that ball rolling- i just know one thing about my new view on food- we do have to see food as alive- as energy and the more we respect that the better we will naturally feed ourselves- but by all means i will be learning more about how food works with my body so i can feed it optimally and not fall for a fad- but listen to reason and most importantly- my own body.  My head spins with all the concepts out there- i listen for the voices that are inclusive  and not dogmatic. It has to stretch its arms wide enough to embrace concepts and styles of eating traditionally across many cultures and it has to leave the element of love in the process- because food is magic. I will be including a lot more raw into my lifestyle- but I am not giving up my soup yet- and i am adding 2 new recipes on soup in the morning just to make my point! ;;)……….

Leave a Reply

et cetera
